Center for Online & Digital Learning
Page tree

Search

Overview

Recorded sessions are compressed and saved as MP4s. Recordings include activity in the live session.

  • Audio

  • Any content shared or active speaker video. If both are shared during the session, only the content shared is recorded.

  • Captions entered during the live session or added later by a moderator. Only one caption track is available. If your session had more than one caption track, only the first available one is captured.

  • Chat messages in the Everyone channel. Private messages and chat messages in breakout groups are not recorded.

Only moderators can turn recording on in sessions.

Everyone can view the recordings from any device as often as they want. There are no view limits.

Recordings need to be converted into a playable format before viewing. The first time a recording is accessed the conversion begins. It may take a few minutes but once it has been done the recording can be viewed by everybody.

If you want chat messages to be anonymous in the recording, make sure you select that option in Session Settings before you start the session. To learn more, see Session Settings.

If there are more than one captions available during the session, the recording will capture only the first one. To learn more, see Live closed captioning

Record Sessions

You can have multiple recordings during one session. If you decide to continue recording a session after you have stopped, a new recording is saved and added to the list of recordings for that session.

Open the Session menu and select Start Recording. The recording camera appears on with a red dot while recording is in progress.

To finish recording, open the Session menu and select Stop Recording.

If you are sharing a file, allow 8 seconds for the recording to include the shared file before moving on.

How do I find the recordings?

You can view recordings in courses you are enrolled in. You may be able to download recordings. Moderators must allow session recording downloads for each session.

Go to Collaborate, open the Menu, and select Recordings.

Recordinig Player

The recording player has the same look and feel as your Collaborate session. There is a Recording menu similar to the Session menu in your live sessions and recording playback controls.

  • Recording menu: Open the Recording menu at the top left of your screen. From here you can download the full recording, download caption transcripts, download chat transcripts, get extra help, or report an issue if you are having trouble with the recording.

  • Captions: Captions are available if they are added later by a moderator or live closed captioning is used during the session. Closed captions are on in the recording by default. Select Closed Captions

    in the playback controls to turn off the captions or adjust the size of the caption font.
    You can also download a transcript for the captions from the Recording menu.

  • Playback controls: The intuitive playback controls allow you to navigate through the recording the way you want.

    • Pause: With your keyboard, press the Spacebar to pause and play the recording.

    • Repeat/Forward: With your keyboard, press the Left and Right arrow keys to repeat or skip the recording by 10 seconds.

    • Progress: Slide the marker on the progress bar to move through the recording. With a keyboard press Shift + Left arrow or Shift + Right arrow to repeat or skip the recording by 10 seconds.

    • Volume: With your keyboard, press the Up and Down arrow keys to increase and decrease the volume by 5%.

    • Closed captions: Select Closed captions

      to view the captions with the recordings. You can also download a transcript of the captions from the Recording menu.

  • Chat messages: Open the Chat panel at the bottom right of your screen to see the complete chat history of the recorded session. To learn more, see Chat messages in recordings.

Downloading

If the moderator has allowed session recording downloads, you can download recordings and transcripts from the recording player Recording menu.

Open the Recording menu at the top left of your screen.

  • Download the full recording

  • Download caption transcripts

  • Download chat transcripts

You can also download captions from the main Recordings list.

  1. From Recordings find a recording with Closed Captions (CC).

  2. Select the Closed caption options menu and select Download captions.

Allow users to download recordings

From the Collaborate scheduler, you can allow session recording downloads for each session. Open a session Session Settings and check Allow download recording. Any recordings made in this session can be downloaded while downloads are allowed.

Edit Recording Names

Give your recordings a new name.

From the Collaborate scheduler, select Recordings and find the recording you want.

Open the Recording options and select Edit name.

Change the name and select Save.

The recording name always begins with the session name. Edits to the name change the text after the backslash (/) only.

Saving your files

When saving your files please name your video files like this:

"Course initials_Course number_Prof. Name_Semester_video number"

Example:

"WRT _205_Selbach_Fall2020_001"

This allows the videos to be easily organized and easily identifiable.
We recommend making a folder somewhere simple, like your desktop, to save all of your videos so it is easy and organized later once you are ready to upload

Delete Recordings

From the Collaborate scheduler, select Recordings and find the recording you want.

Open the Recording options and select Delete.

Select the Yes, Delete It button to confirm.

Share your recordings

Students can find session recordings from in their course. Where the recordings are depends on your institution. Tell your students how to find them.

You can also share your recordings with anyone not in a course with a recording link. Check your email for a recording link when you stop recording a session. You can also copy the recording link from the Recording page.


Go to your Recordings page.

Find the recording you want to share and open the Recording options menu.

Select Copy Link.

Share the public link with anybody.


Breakout Groups

What is said or viewed in a breakout room isn't captured in recordings. Collaborate stops recording your session if all attendees leave the main room to join breakout groups. 

You can start your recording again from the Session Menu when one or more attendees return to the main room.

Click here for more information on using recording in Blackboard Collaborate

  • No labels