Information Technology Support
Page tree

AirDrop is a feature in iPhones, iPads, iPods and Macs that lets you instantly send files, photos and other content to other iPhone or Mac users who are physically close to you.

How to manage your AirDrop settings

To choose who can see your device and send you content in AirDrop:

  1. On your device go to Settings > General > AirDrop 
    1. Receiving Off: You will not able able to receive AirDrops from anyone, even contacts/people you know.
    2. Contacts Only (Default setting): This prevents anyone who is not already in your contacts from sending you AirDrop messages.
    3. Everyone: Anyone who is within Bluetooth range to your device (~30 feet) will be able to send you an AirDrop message. 

  2. On newer Apple iOS versions, you can use Control Center to easily toggle AirDrop settings
    1. On iPhone X or later, or an iPad with iOS 12 or later or iPadOS, swipe down from the upper-right corner of the screen to open Control Center. On iPhone 8 or earlier, swipe up from the bottom of the screen.
    2. Press firmly or touch and hold the network settings card in the upper-left corner.
    3. Touch and hold the AirDrop button A picture of the airdrop button is shown, then choose one of these options:
      • Receiving Off: You won't receive AirDrop requests. 
      • Contacts Only (Default setting): Only your contacts can see your device.
      • Everyone: All nearby Apple devices using AirDrop can see your device.

When someone shares something with you using AirDrop, you see an alert with a preview. You can tap Accept or Decline. If you tap Accept, the AirDrop will come through within the same app it was sent from. For example, photos appear in the Photos app and websites open in Safari. App links open in the App Store so you can download or purchase the app.

How to use AirDrop on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204144