Matthew Ross Wanetik
June 20, 1988 - October 3, 2008

The Matthew Ross Wanetik Memorial Scholarship honors the life of Matthew Wanetik, an undergraduate student at Syracuse University from August 2006 until his death from an undetected heart ailment on October 3, 2008, while studying abroad. Matt was a member of the Class of 2010 and participated in our International Relations Learning Community 2006-2007.  He was combining his major in international relations with a major in political science and a minor in global political economy.

He was a proud brother of Alpha Epsilon Pi fraternity, performed and booked stand-up comedy through the University Union, played the guitar and piano, and made an effort to enjoy each day and to truly appreciate everyone he met.  Matt had a genuine love for his fellow man and participated in many outreach activities; including one Alternate Spring Break trip to New Orleans in spring 2007 to help with the clean-up effort after Hurricane Katrina.

This award has been created for perpetuity and will annually go to an undergraduate student in their junior year majoring in international relations or political science, who is actively engaged in the campus community, and exemplifies Matt's kindness, curiosity and charm.  This engagement might include membership in a learning community, fraternity/sorority, or recognized student organization, or participation in community service/volunteer work or off-campus study.

The scholarship committee will consider applications from students who demonstrate financial need, as determined by the Syracuse University Office of Financial Aid.  


Please use this form to submit your 2024 application.

Applications are due March 5, 2024

The award can range from $500-$4000.  

Matt had a terrific sense of humor, and you can get some sense of this from a Youtube post of a video featuring Matt filmed here on SU campus for a TRF 255 project by his friend Jon Backus.  His friends and classmates have compiled this Matthew Wanetik Remembrance Book.pdf in his honor.

Dr. D'Amico's comments from memorial.pdf

Previous Award Winners

2023 – Ericka Love

2022 - Johany Madrid

2021 - Morgan Markowitz

2020 - Karola Castenada-Garcia

2019 - John Jankovic

2018 - Erin Hamilton

2017 - Taylor Dunne

2016 - Francis Mornecy

2015 - Adriana Curto

2014 - Jesse Montes

2013 - Dylan Lustig