On May 17, 2021, the Maxwell School celebrated the achievements of undergraduate scholarship in the Social Sciences in the seventh annual Maxwell Celebration of Undergraduate Scholarship. Our celebration consisted of individual events hosted by each department as well as a multi-disciplinary poster session featuring research undertaken by undergraduate students during the current academic year.

The following awards were presented during the celebration: 

MAX 123/132 Exemplary Student Paper Award, selected by MAX course faculty

MAX 123 – Mia Stagner for her paper titled "Deliberative Essay" (co-winner)

MAX 123 – Claire Aronson for her paper titled "Economic Inequality" (co-winner)

MAX 132 – Anna Terzaghi for her paper titled "Culture, Conflict and Cooperation"

Outstanding Student Research Paper, selected by a Maxwell faculty committee:

Danielle Llewellyn for her paper titled "Inside Out and Outside In: Race, Exclusion, and Belonging in Asian Transracial Adoptees"

Honorable Mention Research Paper, selected by a Maxwell faculty committee:

Alexander Huynh for his paper titled "The Effect of Natural Disasters on Lobbying and Government Contracting"

Best Poster Award, selected by a committee of Maxwell graduate students:

Vivian Kellar for her poster "Growing Up in Gotham: A Comparative Bioarchaeology of Childhoods in the Early Republic (1776-1848)"

Research Poster Honorable Mention, selected by a committee of Maxwell graduate students:

Andres Trejo for his poster "Promoting Democracy: Bombs, Bucks, or Business?" 

Viewer's Choice Poster Awards, selected by viewer voting during the poster session:

Kenza Bouanane for her poster "United Nations Human Rights Instruments & Democratization: A Case Study Investigating  the Propensity of International Organizations to cause involved Member States to become more Democratic"

Faculty Advisor of the Year:

Simon Weschle, assistant professor of political science

Congratulations to all the students who participated. Thank you to Ben and Marcia Baldanza for endowing these awards, and thank you to all the faculty and staff who supported the students.

  • No labels