Editing Your User Profile

How to edit your Blackboard user profile, including accessing your user profile, changing your profile picture, and information regarding system settings


Accessing Your User Profile

In order to access your user profile, login to Blackboard, then locate and select your name in the upper left under "Institution Page."


Image indicating the location of the User Profile link within Blackboard menu.

Basic Information within the User Profile

In your User Profile, you will see Basic user information, System Settings, and Contact Information. 

Basic Information (including your Full Name) is not editable. 

While name changes are not editable within the Blackboard system, you are able to add your preferred name to your MySlice profile. This change in MySlice will then display in your Blackboard account, as well as your email display name, Orange SUccess, Zoom, and Kaltura accounts.


For more information on how to add a Preferred Name to MySlice, please click here.

Users are not allowed to change their primary name - only their preferred name. If you have an official name change, please check with Human Resources if you're faculty/staff and the Registrar if you're a student. They require official documentation in order to process an official name change. If you need further assistance with this process, please see our FAQs: https://answers.syr.edu/x/RQqwAg or call the Help Desk at 315-443-2677.

Image indicating the location of information in the User Profile that is uneditable within the Blackboard system.


Editing User Profile Picture

Once in your user profile, hover your mouse over the pictured silhouette that displays above your full name at the top of the page. You will see a small pencil icon pop up. Click this pencil to edit your picture.

When you click the pencil icon, a sidebar menu will appear with the same circled silhouette as you saw in your user profile page. Underneath the picture, click the button "Upload new profile picture."

This will open your local files on your computer. Choose the file containing the picture that you want to use as your user profile picture by double clicking the file name. (The file you choose to use as your profile picture must be in a picture format such as .JPEG, .PNG, or .TIFF)

You will see the picture file uploaded into the circled silhouette and it will automatically be cropped inside of the circle. 

Here is a quick video to walk through the process of editing your User Profile Picture:


System Settings


Language Settings

Within the System Settings of the user profile, the first option that you will see is "Language." To the right of this option, the system default setting that appears is "English." If you wish to change this, click on the current setting.

This will open a sidebar panel menu with a dropdown menu under "Default Language." Within the dropdown menu, you will select your language of choice by clicking on the listed language and then hitting the black "Save" button located at the bottom of the panel.

At this time, Blackboard only supports the following default languages: "English (United States)," "Español (España)," and "中文 (中国)."

Privacy Settings

The second section of System Settings is "Privacy Settings." The system defaults that only your instructor is able to view your user profile. By clicking the current setting, another sidebar panel menu will appear. You will see three options: "Only instructors," "Anyone in my courses," and "Anyone on the platform." If you would like anyone who has access to Blackboard to view your profile, choose the "Anyone on the platform" option, otherwise choose one of the other options based on your privacy preferences.

Click the black "Save" button at the bottom of the panel menu to exit with your saved changes.

Here is a quick video to walk through the process of editing Language and Privacy Settings.


Global Notification Settings

The third and final subcategory of the System Settings in "Global Notification Settings." There are three types of Global Notification Settings that you can edit: "Stream notifications," "Email notifications," and "Push notifications." 

Click to expand and learn about each type of notification setting:

When you click the option to edit "Stream notifications," this will edit the information that you see in the Activity Stream located on your Blackboard Menu. By default, all types of notifications for Stream notifications are turned on. When you click to edit Stream notifications, you will see a panel menu appear with a list of checkboxes next to each type of notification. Check or uncheck these notifications according to your preferences. Click the black "Save" button in the bottom right hand corner to exit with your saved changes.

When you click the option to edit "Email notifications," this will edit the information that is delivered to your inbox regarding changes to your courses. Opposite of the Stream notifications, all notification types for Email are turned off by default. When you click to edit Email notifications, you will see a panel menu appear with a  list of checkboxes next to each type of notification. Check or uncheck these notifications according to your preferences.

Additionally, above the checkboxes you will see an option to indicate whether you would rather receive a single email each day with a summary of all of the notifications that happened that day or if you would rather be notificated immediately when changes happen within your courses. Click the black "Save" button in the bottom right hand corner to exit with your saved changes.

Push notifications will only appear for those who are using the Blackboard Learn app on their mobile devices. When you click the option to edit "Push notifications," this will edit the information that will appear as a notification on your mobile device.

In order to receive these notifications, you must turn on permissions for Notifications from the Blackboard Learn app on your mobile device, as well.

When you click to edit Push notifications, you will see a panel menu appear with a  list of checkboxes next to each type of notification. Check or uncheck these notifications according to your preferences. (Notifications for due dates always appear in the app.) Click the black "Save" button in the bottom right hand corner to exit with your saved changes.

Here is a quick video to provide clarification and information on editing Global Notification Settings:

  • No labels