Organization Enrollments

Organization roles control access to content and tools within an organization. Users with the role "Organization Leader" are responsible for adding, removing, and changing the enrollments of other users in their organizations. 

Organization Roles

There are four roles that should be used in Ultra Organizations. Each gives the user a different level of access. 

  • Organization Leader: This role can add, remove, and change the role of other users in an organization. Organization Leader is a new role that should be used in ultra organizations. Users should avoid the older “Leader” role which does not work in ultra organizations.
  • Assistant: This role gives the user full access to edit content and interact with the Gradebook, but cannot add or remove other users. If the organization is unavailable to students, an Assistant can still access the organization. 
  • Organization Builder: This role gives the user access to create and edit the content but cannot see or interact with the Gradebook. If the organization is unavailable to students, an Organization Builder can still access the organization. 
  • Grader: This role allows the user to interact with the Gradebook but cannot add, edit, or delete content. If an organization is unavailable to participants, the organization appears in the organization list for a user with the role of Grader. However, the grader can't enter the organization until the organization is available.
  • Participant: This is the standard role for users to consume information and make submissions in an organization.

Accessing the Organization's Roster

Once inside your organization, you can add or remove users within the roster of the organization. To access your organization's roster, click the link "View everyone in your organization" in the left hand control menu.

Image showing the location of the link to access the roster from the control center menu.


Enrolling Users


Once in your organization roster, you will see any members who are already enrolled in the organization and their respective roles within the organization. In order to add a new members:

  1. Click the (plus) in the left hand corner of the roster.
  2. When the sidebar menu appears, type the first and last name or the NetID of the member to be added in the search bar.
  3. Click the (plus) next to the name of the correct user. "Participant" will be the default role applied to the member when the add button is selected.
  4. If a different user role is needed for the member that you are adding, click the drop down menu and select the appropriate user role. (For more information about the different user roles, visit the "Organization Roles" Answers page.)
  5. Click the black "Save" button in the bottom right hand corner. 

You will now see the added member in the organization roster with their user role listed below their name. 


Although the roles "Leader," "Facilitator," "Notetaker," and "Guest" may appear in the drop down menu of user roles, avoid assigning these roles as they will not function properly within the Ultra course. 

GIF showing a portion of the Roster page in an organization. A cursor moves to the top right corner and clicks an add icon. This opens a panel menu on the left hand side where the cursor navigates to a search bar and types Jessica Davis. The user profile for Jessica Davis appears and the cursor clicks an add icon next to the username. The cursor clicks a Save button in the bottom right hand corner and the panel menu disappears, returning to the roster page showing that Jessica Davis is now enrolled in the organization.


Reassigning Roles

An Organization Leader may change the role of an existing user within the organization:

  1. Find the user in the organization's roster.
  2. Click the "..." next to the user you wish to remove.
  3. Select "Edit member information".
  4. Locate the "Role" drop down menu under "Organization Settings" in the Member Information menu that appears to the right of your screen.
  5. Click the drop down menu and select the appropriate role that you would like to reassign the user.
  6. Click the black "Save" button in the bottom right hand corner.

Avoid using the roles "Leader," "Facilitator," "Notetaker," and "Guest," as these roles do not function properly in the Ultra organizations.

Screenshot of a drop down menu with user roles available in the organization to assign to a user. The roles Facilitator, Leader, Guest, and Notetaker are crossed out with a bold red line, indicating to avoid assigning these roles.


Removing Users

If there is a user that you need to remove from the Organization:

  1. Find the user in the organization's roster.
  2. Click the "..." next to the user you wish to remove.
  3. Select "Edit member information".
  4. When the "Member Information" menu opens in the right of your screen, click thetrash can iconbutton.
  5. Confirm the removal of the user by clicking the black "Remove Member" button in the pop up message that will appear. 


GIF displaying a portion of the roster page of an organization. A cursor navigates to three dots next to the user Jessica Davis. The three dots are clicked and a side panel menu appears to the right. The cursor clicks a trash icon next to the user's name and then clicks the Save button at the bottom right hand corner. The side menu disappears and the roster page shows again with the user now removed from the roster.

  • No labels