Blackboard Collaborate in the Ultra Course View



Blackboard Collaborate Ultra is a real-time video conferencing tool that lets you add files, share applications, and use a virtual whiteboard to interact. Collaborate with the Ultra experience opens right in your browser, so you don't have to install any software to join a session.

Blackboard Collaborate is a real-time video conferencing tool that includes these features and more:

  • Add files
  • Share applications
  • Virtual whiteboard
  • Chat
  • Polling
  • Breakout groups

Browser Requirements

Collaborate Ultra requires a fully-updated, modern web browser with WebRTC support.  Google Chrome is the best browser to use Collaborate Ultra with, while Firefox is a close second.  Safari and Edge are supported to a lesser degree.   

If you experience issues, update your browser and operating system to the latest version.


Collaborate requires permission to access your camera and microphone so you can use audio and video. Allow Collaborate permission when asked, and/or set up permissions in the browser preferences. Additional setup information is available from the vendor.

Tips to get started

Preparation

Preflight Checklist (PDF)
Moderator Setup Information and Session Settings Guidance
Participant Setup information
Interface Tour (Video)



Collaborate Menu

Details & Actions > Blackboard Collaborate .  Click on the three dot menu to open the Collaborate menu with additional options.

From this menu you can get the course room guest link, edit the course room settings, view the course room attendance report, and disable the course room.  Additionally, you can view all scheduled sessions and watch recordings.



Edit Course Room Settings


View Room Report


Manage All Sessions


View All Recordings



Disable the Course Room



Join a collaborate session

The Course Room is an open Collaborate session dedicated to your course.  It provides you and your students a room for classes or impromptu meetings.  The Course Room is on by default. Select Join session > Course Room to join the session.  If you have created additional sessions, they will be listed in the Join Session menu, simply select the session you want to join.


The Collaborate camera icon appears in purple to show you and other course members when people are active in the Collaborate room.



Top

  • No labels