When to use Permissions
The default set of permissions on an a pages is to allow everyone to read the page and all authenticated users the ability to edit the page. Think of these documents as a open Wiki intended to serve the students, staff, and faculty of the iSchool. However, when creating pages which are for internal use, or a specific audience, there is a need to change the permissions.
How to set Permissions
- Setting a pages permissions can be done by entering editing mode and selecting the lock shaped icon on the secondary editing toolbar. This icon is depicted below; notice that if you hover over the icon it will give you a brief description of the current permissions type.
- Upon selecting the permissions button a properties page will appear. On this page permissions can be changed from the drop down menu depicted below.
- In the iSchool the recommended methods of permissions are the either accept the default 'No Restrictions' (Everyone can view and edit) role, or to explicitly specify who can view and edit by selecting the 'Viewing and editing restricted' role. If attempting to explicitly set permissions, find the individuals or groups who require permissions and set them. The picture below depicts setting a user the ability to view and edit the page. Add the user and apply those settings for the permissions to be updated.
- The default permissions for documents is for everyone to be able to view and edit pages.
- If a page requires specific permissions it is recommended that the 'Viewing and editing restricted' option be selected; then explicitly setting the permissions for those individuals, or groups, to view or edit the page.