ITS Services and Applications
Page tree

There currently is no process for removing SUmail accounts for former SU students.  Until a removal process is developed, a former student who no longer wants an SUmail account will need to set up a rule within SUmail to delete all messages, and then set an auto-reply message to let the sender know the account is no longer being used.

Set up a rule to delete all messages.

  1. Log into SUmail by going to http://sumail.syr.edu,click the Continue button, and log in with your entire SU e-mail address and NetID password
    1. If you do not remember your password go to https://selfserv.syr.edu/accounts/pwdForgot.asp to reset your password, or call 315-443-2677.
  2. Click the Gear Icon on the top right corner of the browser.
    office 365 settings location via cog symbol on the top right

  3. Scroll down and click 'Mail'.
    mail option within the settings drop down

  4. Click 'Inbox and Sweep Rules'
    inbox and sweep rule settings

  5. Under Inbox Rules, click '+'.
    click the plus to add a new rule

  6. In the "When the message arrives, and:" field select "Apply to all messages"
    apply the new rule to all messages option drop down

  7. In the "Do the following:" field select "Delete the message"
    options dropdown for when a message is picked up by the rule

  8. Click 'OK'
    click ok to accept the configuration

Set up an Autoreply

  1. Click 'Automatic replies'
    automatic replies within the settings menu

  2. Click the "Send automatic replies" option
    click to send automatic replies within the automatic replies menu

  3. Type a message in "Send a reply once to each sender inside my organization with the following message:" field letting the sender know the account is no longer monitored. (ie. This account is no longer used, and the person you are trying to contact can no longer me reached with this address)
    configure the automatic replies text in the edit area

  4. Copy and paste the same message into the "Send a reply once to each sender outside my organization with the following message:" section
    determine the behavior of the automatic reply message

  5. Click 'Save'
    save your reply with the save button at the top of the screen