The Messages tool allows students and instructors to communicate by sending and receiving messages within Blackboard only. Users can send private messages to instructors, teaching assistants or peers. Because the tool remains in Blackboard, users must log in to check messages. Users can also save drafts of messages, and there is an inbox and sent box.
Students with unread message in courses that no longer available cannot enter old courses to clear the unread message count. ITS has confirmed with Blackboard that this is a known issue under development — it will be addressed in a future release.
Instructors can only clear unread messages by locating them in the message navigation and then entering the course to mark them as unread. The indication that a course contains unread messages is subtle—it is a line of text underneath the Course Name and Course ID.
Users who are sent messages will receive notification that they have new messages from Messages area of the main Blackboard Ultra Navigation. Users can manage their notification settings to include course messages and set preferences.