Blackboard
Page tree

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

Version 1 Next »

 

Topic Overview

You can add additional users to your Blackboard course in the following roles:

  • Instructor: The Instructor role has the highest level of privilege within a course. Typically, the Instructor is the person teaching or leading the class. The Instructor has access to everything in the course's Control Panel.
  • Teaching Assistant: The teaching assistant is the rough equivalent of the Instructor. The teaching assistant has access to everything in the course's Control Panel except for certain user management capabilities (such as the ability to remove an instructor from the course).
  • Course Builder: The course builder role has access to the course's Control Panel, but only to the content areas section and the user management section. An instructor would assign someone the course builder role so that person could assist the instructor in the creation of course content and some of the course management. The course builder does not have access to the course Grade Center.
  • Grader: The grader role has access to the course's Control Panel, but only to the assessment section. A grader would assist the instructor in the creation, management, delivery, and grading of online assessments delivered through Blackboard. The grader does has access to the course Grade Center.

Note that you cannot add students to your class as they are automatically added or dropped via the registrar

Steps

  1. Click on the "Manage Users" tool in the Users and Groups section of the Control Panel: 
  2. A pop-up window will appear describing the tool. You can clear this by clicking the X at the upper right. To prevent the pop-up from appearing every time you use Manage Users, click on "preferences" in the gray section above and to the right of the user list and then "Submit."
  3. If you are working in a merged course you will see a Performance Warning window. Click "try Now" and "Submit."
  4. You can Add or Remove users using the buttons at the upper right. Note that you cannot remove Instructors or Students.

 

Sources and Relevant Links

Sample: http://its.syr.edu

  • No labels