Blackboard Learn Logo

Topic Overview

Instructors can add additional users to your Blackboard course in the following roles:


It is not possible for a Leader to change a users role—despite the drop down menu that appears in the Manage Users page. To change a users role, the Leader must delete the existing enrollment (see below) and add the user back with the new role. 

Steps

  1. Click on the "Manage Users" tool in the Users and Groups section of the Control Panel:


    Manage Users Menu Option


    1. A pop-up window will appear describing the tool. You can clear this by clicking the X at the upper right. To prevent the pop-up from appearing every time you use Manage Users, click on "preferences" in the gray section above and to the right of the user list and then "Submit:"

      Screenshot of user interface



  2. To add users:
    1. Click the "Add" button at the upper left above the user list:

       Screenshot of user interface


    2. This will open the Add Users window:

      Screenshot of user interface


    3. Enter the NetID of the user you want to add. You can enter multiple usernames by separating them with commas, e.g., username1, username2, username3... If you don't know a person's username, you can use the Search section at the top.

      • Here, you can search using one of several criteria: first name, last name, username or student ID number. Enter the criterion and click "Search."
      • This brings you to the Search Results page with people that match the search criterion.
      • If you can't find the user, try using a different search criterion and verify that they are not already enrolled in the course.
      • Select the checkbox(es) of the user(s) you wish to have added.
      • This brings you back to the Add Users page. The username(s) of the people you wish to add is/are listed in the username box.

    4. Select the desired role for the additional user(s).

    5. Click Submit.


Leaders can remove any user (except themselves) from the main manage users page by selecting the checkbox next to the desired user clicking "Remove from this Organization" in the upper left above the user list.

If you delete a participant from an organization, data associated with submissions to activities that appear in the grade center of the organization will be deleted from the system.