The Course Groups feature allows instructors and students to create groups of students within a Course. These Course Groups have their own area on Blackboard. These spaces are equipped with tools that can assist in this collaborative process: Blogs, Journals, file sharing and Group Assignments.
Group Blog: In the Group area, all members of a Group can create entries for the same Blog, building upon one another. Any course member can read an comment on a Group Blog, but cannot make entries if they are not a member of the Group
Collaboration: Users within the group can participate in real-time lessons and discussions.
Discussion Board: The Group Discussion Board is an area where Course Group members can post messages and replies Instructors can use this tool to encourage discussions of course material outside of the classroom. This Discussion Board is available only to Course Group members, not to the entire course.
File Exchange: Students and Instructors can use this tool to upload documents to the Course Group area and organize them through the creation of folders in which their items can be stored. Students can access this material from within the course. Instructors have access to all folders in their course.
Send Email: All members of a Course Group can send email messages to selected members or the entire group. These messages are internal to the Course Group, they are not available to anyone outside the group.
Group Journal: When used in the Group area, all members of a Group can view each other's entries, but the Group Journal can only be viewed by the Group and the Instructor.
Group Tasks: The Group Tasks page organizes projects or activities (referred to as tasks) by defining task priority and tracking task status.
Single groups are created using the exact same steps used to create Group Sets but only create one group at a time. Only Self-Enroll and Manual Enroll options are available. Group Sets will typically be used more often but groups can be created individually as well.
Self-Enroll allows students to add themselves to a group using a sign-up sheet. You can make sign-up sheets available to students on the groups listing page or by adding a link to a course area, such as a Content Area, Learning Module, Lesson Plan, or folder. When you create a group using sign-up sheets, the group can be immediately available to use or made available after all members have signed up. Self-enrollment is an option available for both single groups and group sets.
For Manual Enroll, an instructor assigns each student in the course to a group. Manual enrollment is available for both single groups and group sets.
Random Enroll is available for only group sets and automatically distributes membership into groups based on a designated number of students per group or the designated number of groups. Random distribution applies only to students who are currently enrolled in the course. Additional students can be enrolled manually.
Add or remove users from existing groups
Add a Group Link to the Course Menu